Show Me Yours and I’ll Show You Mine…

Ah, the age-old negotiation. Beginning around the age of 5 (3, if you’re particularly precocious) and ending somewhere around, um, death.

In this case, I’m talking about workstations, creative spaces, your studio, or what-may-have-you. What have you? I was on the phone with a Faerie and being the rude creature I am I asked if she’d show me hers. A bit of a contest, if you will. Who has the most disorganized work/creative/what-may-have-you space. I’m fairly certain that I won.

Being a tight-rope-walker of Dissociative Indentity disorder, there are several areas where I enjoy sacrificing myself at the Alter of Creative Madness. I’ll just show you photos of two of these areas. Good grief! You’ve not even shown me one of yours, so do stop complaining.

Welcome to my Storytelling-Scribbling-Cosmic-Note-Taking-Doodling-Writing and *General Mayhem “space.”

And yes, thank you for bringing up a painful subject it is an upside down “space.”  Storytelling isn’t all peace and light, you know. And in fact there is very little peace and often no light at all. Characters are demanding and frequently get up to all sorts of high and low jinks, including turning said Storyteller’s space up-the-freaking-side down. The photo looked right-the-freaking-side up when I took it. *Specific Mayhem requires a specific space, depending of course specifically what type of mayhem you wish to down with.

Yes, thank you for bringing up a painful subject this IS an upside down “space.” Storytelling isn’t all peace and light, you know. In fact there is very little peace and often no light at all. Characters are demanding beings and frequently get up to all sorts of high and low jinks, including turning said Storyteller’s space up-the-freaking-side down. The photo looked right-the-freaking-side up when I took it.

And this is where my Dabble-Babble-Mad-Scientist-y stuff seems to occur.

The scene of many experiments, successful, unsuccessful, in-between, and nearly all of them far too much fun. As you perhaps can see in the shadows above and around of what I broadly call my work table peer creatures of various backgrounds, some approving, some disapproving, some applauding, and others who just give me the raspberries or the finger depending on their mood.

The scene of many experiments: successful, unsuccessful, in-between, and nearly all of them alternating between excruciatingly painful and far, far too much fun. As you perhaps can see in the shadows above and around of what I broadly call my work table creatures from various backgrounds peer down at me: some approve, some disapprove, some smile benevolently, a few applaud, and then there are the ones who just give me the raspberries or the finger depending on their mood.

To be honest though, this stuff happens everywhere. Especially in inconvenient locations: my day job at the construction site, a doctor’s office, crowded elevator (which must be filled with strange, business type people), or in line at the grocery store. Keep in mind that these are only examples. Many other inappropriate locations are possible. Let’s just say I’m accustomed to being on the receiving end of many looks of bafflement to outright hostility simply for making random, seemingly incomprehensible statements or chuckling to myself.

I sincerely hope that you’re enjoying whatever Sunday Madness you’ve found yourself up-to-your-neck-in.

*General Mayhem can be committed anywhere and I encourage you to commit it as much as possible. On the other hand, Specific Mayhem requires a specific space, depending of course specifically on what type of Mayhem you wish to get down with. I’m working on a book on Mayhem Etiquette, but until that is complete I’m afraid you’re on your own.

4 thoughts on “Show Me Yours and I’ll Show You Mine…

  1. another excellent post Merrie! I do love your ‘Mad Scientist-y’ area a lot, I think it’s the bunny slippers that make it for me, either that or the voodoo dolls or just the general organisation of the place! Looking forward to the etiquette book from you, so I won’t keep committing Mayhem faux-pas in my daily life.

  2. I LOVE your mayhem madness! But where are the Bunny slippers? Ah ha! I’ve spied them ………:) 🙂 🙂 I’m not going to lie, I’ve got a bit of table envy going on here, what a gorgeous desk you have to work on. My table is tiny so I have to force myself to de-clutter it regularly which is frigging annoying as Tidy is not my middle name. Now I have a question- is that bag hanging from the table full of edible treats? Or, is it a rubbish bag? I’m hoping very much that it is the former. A wise faerie told me that ice cream sandwiches and relaxation are invaluable tools for creativity. I really thought that advice was genius. Very much looking forward to reading Mayhem Etiquette, any tips on how to install yet more mayhem and madness in to my life would be greatly received xoxoxooxxxox

    • What a terrible blog host I am. Somehow I missed your comment (from January…it is now March). My most sincere of apologies. And it SUCH a FABULOUS comment! The bag is for rubbish, which I tend to create a lot of! My book on Mayhem Etiquette is on the back burner at the moment, due to the demands of the Revolution, but it is certainly not forgotten. Hope all is well in your world, dear Lottie xoxoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

