The Sun Comes Out or: What the Heck is That??

Sunshine, lollipops and rainbows,

Everything that’s wonderful is what I feel when we’re together,

Brighter than a lucky penny

When you’re near the rain cloud disappears, dear,

And I feel so fine just to know that you are mine.

~ Lesley Gore

Though I’m not quite there with Lesley Gore, I do believe I’m getting there. In her lyrics Ms. Gore may have been referring to a romantic attachment. My romantic attachment is a calm sea in the storms of my head so, WARNING: That’s not where I’m going with this.

Yeah. It's a weird sun. But it's my weird sun.

Yeah. It’s a weird sun. But it’s my weird sun.

No, this is about my relationship to my Creativity. You know, that part of you that you just love to dance with, but at the same time gives you the Willies-Tangled-Up-With-Multiple-Heebie-Jeebies? Yeah. That’s it.

You may find yourself grappling in the darkness. It happens. The cool thing is that you can climb your way out of your funk (or oubliette, as I refer to it). And suddenly you’re hearing Lesley Gore’s “Sunshine Lollipops, and Rainbows” and you’re like,

What the Heck is That??

Ahem, speaking of my doodle. I think I’ll call it FlowerSun WeirdSun. Nice. It has a lovely Asian sound to it.

And yeah it’s a weird (looking) sun that’s peeping out it’s face at me, but I’d probably drop into a dead faint if I actually doodled something “normal.” Besides that, I don’t even think “normal” and “doodle” belong in the same sentence. Does anyone doodle “normal”?? I rest my case (if I was in court over this, which I’m not, thank goodness).

My point is (yeah, I actually have one), that everyone deserves to have their very own weird sun, whatever that may be. Yours could look completely different than mine. And that’s utterly flipping fine. The important thing is to enjoy whatever yours happens to be. And maybe you could also enjoy other people enjoying theirs. Okay, things might have got strange just now so I’ll stop and merely leave you with this:

Whatever the form, shape, color, medium, or expression your weird sun may take, may it shine out in all its glory. I think it would be fanflippingtastic to see what your weird sun looks like and if you’d like me to see, leave your link in the comments below.

 

Note: My title is a nod to Dr. Strangelove or: How I learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb. Fantastic film that I highly recommend.

6 thoughts on “The Sun Comes Out or: What the Heck is That??

    • OMG, that would be so cool! You think Eddie Vedder would mind? I bet he wouldn’t. He has a great big weird sun, too.

      I think that a lot of us have terrible fears, stage fright, when it comes to our creative passions. We want it so badly, and at the same time have this enormous fear of truly going for it. It would be great if there was a magic wand you could wave that would make the fear go away. But there isn’t. We just have to flipping do it anyway!

      Hope all is going well in your world, especially your painting, Lottie. Thanks for stopping by! xoxo

  1. I love your doodles. I never have doodled. Never. Even when I was painting and drawing back in the day I did not doodle. Okay, maybe I did. Once or twice. On a book cover in school. Ha! But seriously, I do love to see your work. Seems that quite a few of us have been in the grappling process lately. Makes me wonder somedays if there is not a psychic soul processing going on amongst us. 🙂

    • “…a psychic soul processing going on amongst us.” Wow. That’s really cool. I feel that way, too. Like there is this amazing well of creativity and those of us brave enough drink from it. We also pitch a huge fit on the way to it. Weird. But yeah, maybe something big is going on in the cosmos right now and we all have a part in it. A very interesting thought.

      I really appreciate that you enjoy my doodles. I feel the same about your mixed media art and the way you take your photographs to a whole new level. It’s one of my fav things about photography and you are so dang good at it. I hope if you’ve been grappling that you’re out the other side now, basking in the glow of your Weird Sun. 🙂

Leave a Reply

