Knights without Armor

The Old Code

A Knight is sworn to valor.

His heart knows only virtue.

His blade defends the helpless.

His might upholds the weak.

His words speak only truth.

His wrath undoes the wicked.

~From the movie Dragonheart

 

Faces Tribe - Unfinished My son's girlfriend spied this doodle on their last visit. She loved it, which embarassed me a bit, though it pleased me as well, of course. Both she and my son thought it would make an excellent tattoo. An interesting notion. It's awfully crowded in here, what with clowns, priestesses, ghosts, and aliens. It wouldn't surprise me if in this cast of characters a tattoo artist hides out, too.

Faces Tribe – Unfinished
My son’s girlfriend spied this doodle on their last visit. She loved it, which embarassed me a bit, though it pleased me as well, of course. Both she and my son thought it would make an excellent tattoo. An interesting notion. It’s awfully crowded in here, what with clowns, priestesses, ghosts, and aliens. It wouldn’t surprise me if in this cast of characters a tattoo artist hides out, too.

My favorite line from The Old Code is the last. His wrath undoes the wicked. Isn’t that a comforting thought? I believe this is the purpose of wrath.

Anger is much misused. So much so that we have forgotten that it has an actual purpose, as well as both a time and place when it must be expressed. That was my mood when I drew these tribal faces. I’ve never done anything like this piece in the past. I hope it becomes a trend, as I quite like them.

Should your life and spirit be in jeopardy, I hope that the knight who lives within you will speak up (or draw her sword) on your behalf.

 

© 2015 Intricate Knot

6 thoughts on “Knights without Armor

  1. I have never been a believer that you must always turn the cheek or seek the most peaceful resolution. Sometime, I feel it perfectly right to become my enemy’s karma. Great doodle. It would make a fun tatt.

Leave a Reply

