A Skull, a Christmas Tree, and an Octopus in a Sweater…

If your heart is in your dream
No request is too extreme
When you wish upon a star
Like dreamers do

~Harline & Washington

I thought you weren't done, but you are. That's never happened before.

I thought you weren’t done, but you are. That’s never happened before.

I can’t make up my mind, so I’m wondering if I should get rid of it. What’s the point in keeping it around (my mind) if it can’t be made up?? Then again, why do we place such importance on making up our minds? Why not just be loose and free and make it all up as we go along? Like-Dreamers-Do.

Hmm…

The path to our dreams doesn’t necessarily get shorter if our minds are made up. If possible, the path may even grow longer like Pinocchio’s nose. That’s only because we think we know what direction we’re going in and often, that’s not true at all. Lots of times we end up far and away and way out of our way (whatever “our way” is).

I’ve already Wished Upon Star. I may as well see where that takes me.

So…maybe I won’t get rid of my mind. I’ll hang onto it for a bit longer and see how it goes. Happy New Year, Mind o’ Mine. We’ll let it be a good one, shall we?

 

 

6 thoughts on “A Skull, a Christmas Tree, and an Octopus in a Sweater…

  1. Cool piece IK! I hope you do keep your mind for another year (and longer!) as Ido enjoy your pieces! I don’t think the octopus looks to happy in his jumper though! Great drawing all the same.

    • You’re right, the Octopus is not happy at all. Next time I doodle him, he’ll be wearing something entirely more to his liking: a red scarf with stars sprinkled all over it! Thanks for the comment, Steve, and I’m happy you like the piece. 🙂

  2. Only you, dear Sister , could come up with the idea of an octopus wearing a jumper ( a sort of octopus straight-jacket) And, if I may use your wonderful drawing as an example, I fervently hope that you never lose your mind (this terrific one that you possess) because I love the way your mind works in such a creative way. Wishing you a stupendously creative, happy and healthy 2016 xoxo

Leave a Reply

